Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Power Pinochle Player Ratings
I'm not saying I plan to do this but I suppose we could...

If PP archived every game from every site that allowed me to, then we could potentially create our own rating formula.
What would that look like?

I remember using an independent website to track my poker statistics (and others) called SharkScope.
Thoughts?
It's unbelievable how much you don't know about the game you've been playing all your life. -- Mickey Mantle
No chance, IMO. Not from any automated formula.

The only way to really rate is, does the player win? Against quality opponents, and over time?

SharkScope can gauge with some accuracy the quality of a poker tournament by the buy-in. If a seat's costing $500, it's safe to say that the large majority of players will be fairly good...certainly larger than the percent of players that actually cash. A $3 event? LOTS of total newbies. And anyone can bust out just from luck, so you need lots of events.

And, in a partnership game, the skill level of your partner matters enormously. Your carefully considered plan can get blown away by partner's thoughtless plays. The major luck factor obscures things, so you need a larger sample...or a way to diminish the luck element, that is to say, playing duplicate.
Here's a nice example hand from a game I just finished.

S KQQQJT
           H AAKQT
           D AAKKJT
           C AKQ

S AAAKQJT  +-------+  S AKT
H AKKJTT   |   N   |  H AKQQJJJT
D QQT      | W   E |  D AAQJT
C AQQJ     |   S   |  C KKQJ
           +-------+

S KJJT
           H Q
           D KKQJJT
           C AAKJJTTTT
}
[Auction "S"]
50 52 60 Pass
Pass Pass