Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
World of Card Games - beginner and developer
Hi,

I'm the developer at World of Card Games, and today I added Double Deck Pinochle to the site.

I'm a beginner at Pinochle, and I found some of the rules confusing... I'm still not that good, and I'm afraid it probably shows up in how I programmed the "bots" on the site (computer players).

If you care to give it a try and give me feedback, I'm all ears. One thing I had difficulty with was the display of melds. I've seen how it's done at different sites. I wound up choosing a sort of matrix view, which seemed more clear to me as a beginner. But I heard from one person so far that they'd rather just see the cards laid out in rank/suit order.

Thanks!

Marya
Play Pinochle at World of Card Games!
Awesome! I can't wait to try it.
Fabulous!  Your post represents several ways I want to see Power Pinochle utilized.  I want new pinochle software to be advertised here.  I want developer questions here.  I want discussions on improved bot performance, user experience and rules.  This will render Power Pinochle as a critical reference point for all pre & post development stages, where feedback from a wide spectrum of users assists developers in understanding and providing a truly desired result.

More to your question about displaying meld cards...
Perhaps it would be good to start a new thread regarding Preferred Display of Meld Cards Online (or something similar).
In said thread, we could discuss what is possible, what the pros and cons are, and any general opinions that might impact user experience.
I have thought long about this point while developing our (still in development) Hand Animator though I haven't bothered querying the public about a preferred approach.

I look forward to more discussions with you.  Please peruse the wealth of information already existing in the forum.  I am sure some of our membership will trial your software and offer feedback.

Welcome to Power Pinochle!