Power Pinochle Forums
Poll: Do You Use The Double Aces Around Bid? - Printable Version

+- Power Pinochle Forums (http://www.powerpinochle.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Power Pinochle Community (http://www.powerpinochle.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Forum: Pinochle Bidding (http://www.powerpinochle.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=22)
+--- Thread: Poll: Do You Use The Double Aces Around Bid? (/showthread.php?tid=740)



Poll: Do You Use The Double Aces Around Bid? - mickmackusa - 09-12-2014

Inspired by the Double Aces Around Bid thread. Here are some snippets from the thread:

Quote: When I was researching bidding I found enough resources and opinions of players to realize that the majority of players view 59 as a double aces bid as long as it is the next bid after a previous bid of 55/56 or lower.

Quote: if the bidding gets to 56 or 57, the 59 bid is NOT double aces. It does show meld.

Quote:Double aces comes up maybe once in 500 hands.

Quote: My family games don't have a 59 Double Aces bid, so for me, this was a brand new thing to learn.



RE: Poll: Do You Use The Double Aces Around Bid? - richardpaulhall - 02-12-2016

I had double aces one evening on Yahoo Pinochle. I was playing against two higher ranked players who had disparaged my bidding and play.
During the bidding they chatted abut If I knew what the bid meant and did I actually have double aces.

Partner took the bid. After the hand I said that I might not bid correctly, but if I knew what a bid meant and remembered the convention, I always had my bid.


RE: Poll: Do You Use The Double Aces Around Bid? - rdwrites - 02-14-2016

I voted None of the Above.
I meld bid 59 for any meld 90 or above (or as much meld as I can indicate from previous bid).
Indication of strength of trump suit in bidding between partners should, imo, come from number of bids made after meld bid. Given the meld, the strongest trump suit should take the bid.
As always, my opinion only. I apparently come from prison version of double deck pinochle (per mick's descriptions Smile It is true that I played first time in county jail for a 30 days for no inspection sticker on my motorcycle while in college (long story). But then continued playing in college break room, so it is actually the prison version.


RE: Poll: Do You Use The Double Aces Around Bid? - mickmackusa - 02-14-2016

At Power Pinochle, unique opinions and convicts are always welcome!


RE: Poll: Do You Use The Double Aces Around Bid? - nmaguire75 - 04-14-2016

I saw that one of the available poll responses was I don't bid 59 when I have double aces, I bid 100. This isn't the best move. If neither you nor your partner have a trump suit that will stop the other team from making their 20 to save, there's no need to call trump. In this case, it's better to let the other team try to take it (if you can get them to  Tongue) and try to set them. There's never any sense in calling trump when you don't have a suit that would stop the other team from saving their 20 points to keep their meld. You have to pull your own 20 points whether you call trump or not. So, bid 59 and let your partner decide if he or she wants it, and if neither of you do , just try to let the other team take it and go for the possible set. If you bid 100 the other team will drop out and you will lose the opportunity to try to set them for sure.


RE: Poll: Do You Use The Double Aces Around Bid? - nmaguire75 - 04-15-2016

Do you use jump bids to show increments of 30 or more meld once the bid gets to 60 or higher RD?


RE: Poll: Do You Use The Double Aces Around Bid? - rdwrites - 04-15-2016

yes, Nikki. I take a bid increase of 15 to indicate 30 meld so that someone jumping to 60 or 65 to cut off meld doesn't cut it off. Smile I was musing in another thread here when discussing this about possibility of a higher increment indicating more meld but I think that gets into bad territory per your post above about making a very high bid and not necessarily having a good trump suit between you and your partner. So will stick with that.

I agree with your post above. The logic is that with double aces it'd be pretty hard not to be able to save but that is weak logic indeed. I agree with your logic absolutely and that's way I would play it.

You might be interested in taking a look at the game rules I wrote up for my PC version of Double Deck I wrote back in early 80's. The link is in my intro thread. I think I have the bump by 15 is 30 meld in there but I will doublecheck.


RE: Poll: Do You Use The Double Aces Around Bid? - nmaguire75 - 04-15-2016

(04-15-2016, 10:19 AM)rdwrites Wrote:  yes, Nikki. I take a bid increase of 15 to indicate 30 meld so that someone jumping to 60 or 65 to cut off meld doesn't cut it off. Smile I was musing in another thread here when discussing this about possibility of a higher increment indicating more meld but I think that gets into bad territory per your post above about making a very high bid and not necessarily having a good trump suit between you and your partner.

The way I was taught is that you jump, hence the name jump bid, 10 points in the bid for every 30 meld you have. So if you had 30 meld and the bid was at 65, you would jump to 75 and if you had closer to 60 meld, you would jump to 85. The rule with this is that you should only send a jump bid if your partner has already made a previous 'regular' bid at or above 60 points. The reasoning for this is if your partner could already handle a 60 bid, he or she could handle bidding 10 more points with an extra 20 meld from you and so on with higher increments. (We're assuming that all players have an average of 10 meld in their hand to begin with). You shouldn't risk sending a jump bid if your partner's last bid was below 60. You don't know if he or she could cover it and it may just look like you're skipping an increment so the other team doesn't force you to bid 5 more than you can. I hope this makes sense. It's easier to explain while a hand is in play. 



(04-15-2016, 10:19 AM)rdwrites Wrote:  You might be interested in taking a look at the game rules I wrote up for my PC version of Double Deck I wrote back in early 80's. The link is in my intro thread. I think I have the bump by 15 is 30 meld in there but I will doublecheck.

I will surely look for it. We can compare notes  Smile