Power Pinochle Forums
KJL's Support Thread - Printable Version

+- Power Pinochle Forums (http://www.powerpinochle.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Power Pinochle Community (http://www.powerpinochle.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Forum: Site Suggestions & Support (http://www.powerpinochle.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=19)
+--- Thread: KJL's Support Thread (/showthread.php?tid=522)

Pages: 1 2


KJL's Support Thread - rakbeater - 07-15-2013

Hi Hello
Been lurking around for a few weeks trying to learn something about this great game at a great looking website. I'm a very raw beginner, play a couple of times a week, This site which should be a great source of info has confused the hell out of me at times??? It turns out I must have what has been diagnosed (on this site)as "Java scripting errors"

In a completely simplistic description of the problem
PP (on my machine) does not display the AD "Aces of Diamonds" ("icon")
See attached jpg screen capture of the "Beginner's Trick Counting Quiz" ??? Notice hands 2&3 have only 19 cards 4&5 have only 18 cards
(shifted over the missing ADs and are shorter than hand #1's, 20 cards)

After becoming aware of the nature of the problem
I was finally able to view the 20 cards per hand (with the ADs) on both my Android phone and on my wifes laptop.

On my Dell laptop The missing ADs symptom occurs in both Windows Explorer, Foxfire and Chrome, and effects the entire website including the "Hand Creator" and "Meld Calculator" (it makes most of the textual discriptions appear to not make any sense, I was really getting frustrated) I have not seen (noticed?) the problems on any other website

What still blows my mind is that it appears to be so specific the the Ace of Diamonds!!! (AD is the only missing icon in "Smilies selection" too)
So it seems "local" to my laptop and not a pgm bug, But I was hoping someone can shed some light on how do I begin to find and fix it.
(it makes the site and most posts almost impossible to follow)

For what its worth
I'm running A Dell Inspiron 6400 2 gig
XP Pro 2002 SP3, Explorer 8.0.6001.18702, Foxflre 22
Java JRE 1.7.0_25 (Scripting enabled, and tried re-installing it too)

Thanks in advance for taking some time away from the game
I realize this may not belong in this particular forum topic so please
move it where you feel it belongs

Kenn Lynch


RE: KJL's Support Thread - richardpaulhall - 07-15-2013

KJL
I am trying to come up with a way to exercise your pc so that enlightenment , in return, will fall upon one of us.

Try posting a new message. using the card related Smilies.
CLICK on a smiley, do not drag-and-drop.

The codes are all 4 characters long:
<colon><Card Rank><Card Suit><colon>
Rank: ATKQJ, U for Unknown, X for any card
Suit: CDSH and G for Generic
<colon><hyphen><hyphen><colon> is a blank card
<colon><P><P><colon> is the Power Pinochle logo

With no Diamond Ace, there is nothing for you to click, so just type it in
<colon><A><D><colon>

Lets see what happens.
I know something displays because some space is used where the Diamond Ace is supposed to appear.


RE: KJL's Support Thread - richardpaulhall - 07-15-2013

The Diamond Ace file, /forum/images/postcards/AD.png
Are its file properties any different than any other card image file?


RE: KJL's Support Thread - KJL - 07-15-2013

Hi Hello to all concerned. Good News!
I did find the apparent cause of my problem
Its my Kaspersky Internet Security Package (Firewall/Antvirus)

Just on a hunch I disabled it and the display problem with the <AofD>
dissapeared in both Internet Explorer and Foxfire. all the sample hands
line up equally (20 cards wide) and the Meld Calculator works correctly for the first time. and I can now read your most informative posts without scratching my now balding head <G>

This is still certainly not optimal, I need the security features but at least I know the source of the incompatibilities and I can pursue that with Kaspersky.
I noticed Rick Hall responded with some tests related to the missing "smilies" I was too thrilled to see things working correctly to try to follow his instructions (I'd have to re-enable Kaspersky to re-create the problem condition. Rick I'll be glad to try your suggestions tomorrow but we have company tonight (It's "Pinochle Night" here)

Thanks for looking and of course to Rick for responding.
I will keep the board posted on this as it could effect others as well
Later Guys
Kenn Lynch


RE: KJL's Support Thread - tony ennis - 07-15-2013

It works on a different computer in his house, so it isn't his network.

It fails on 3 different browsers on his PC, so it isn't a browser, cookie, or cache issue.

It's almost like he's getting burned by a Windows setting.


RE: KJL's Support Thread - richardpaulhall - 07-15-2013

KJL


Get to a page in the Forum. Click the"New Reply" button.
Using Chrome, click on the three line equal sign on the top right portion of the screen.
From the menu, select Tools, under that select View Source. This is the script that runs the forum page.

Line 155, or so, has a link to the image for the Diamond Ace
"images/postcards/AD.png", click that link. You will go to a web page containing only the image of the Diamond Ace.

What do you see?


RE: KJL's Support Thread - tony ennis - 07-15-2013

I wonder if his virus checker thinks AD.png has an embedded virus. I have not heard of that exploit working in a long long time.


RE: KJL's Support Thread - richardpaulhall - 07-15-2013

I suspected it was the file. I suspected some network setting the PC didn't like.

If he tried to download that PNG if the problem is Kaspersky then Kaspersky should giver a reason.


RE: KJL's Support Thread - KJL - 07-16-2013

(07-15-2013, 08:56 PM)richardpaulhall Wrote:  KJL


Get to a page in the Forum. Click the"New Reply" button.
Using Chrome, click on the three line equal sign on the top right portion of the screen.
From the menu, select Tools, under that select View Source. This is the script that runs the forum page.

Line 155, or so, has a link to the image for the Diamond Ace
"images/postcards/AD.png", click that link. You will go to a web page containing only the image of the Diamond Ace.

What do you see?

Hey Rick
had some other iregularities with the AofD smilie
All works well with Kaspersky disabled
At first it appeared to be corrected even after re-enabling Kaspersky
but problem reapeared shortly there after
So I didn't try your test until the problem re-apeared
I re-installed Chrome (had removed it)
And tried your test in Chrome

"No" image appeared for the AD.png
in the title bar it also showed it as "AD.png (1x1)"
For some reason its getting the size wrong??

In Contrast if I click on the AS.png or any of the others
it correctly displays the icon and shows "AS.png (20x40)" in the title bar

I'm an old programmer but from the era before the Visual Windows and Java environment so I'm stymied here

To add to the confussion, I have two windows open
1 Explorer, 1 Chrome. I'm replying in Explorer and viewing in Chrome
The AofD smilie is now appearing in the Explorer Smilies correctly AD
but the problem as decribed is occuring in Chrome, I think this might be
related to when Kaspersky and each browser was opened but I'm not sure at all at this point.

Thanks Again for your time and assistance
Kenn Lynch


RE: KJL's Support Thread - KJL - 07-16-2013

Hey Hello again
Some more good news (for anyone with a similar situation anyway)
Since identified the name of the file I was having the issue with.
I did some further poking around in Kaspersky and found several hits in the Anti-Banner section for the AD.png file !!!

In Kaspersky I only had to click on "Allow" from the AD.png entry's pulldown menu and all seems to be fine in Chrome and Explorer!!

Ironically I got the feeling (what am I smokin <G>)
somehow Kaspersky overcautiously interpretted AD as
an "AD"vertisement??, Anyway I'm glad its overcautious but wished it had made a "louder warning alarm" when it trapped it.
I usually just let Kaspersky do it's thing and I'd still recommend it

But I'm going to see what else is of interest in the log files
I'm reluctant to say all is well as things always "pop-up" later
In anycase I'll keep the post updated on any on issues, or if anyone would like me to try anything else. (so many windows bugs never get a really satisfactory fix)

BTW as soon as I allowed AD.png the image appeared and size showed correctly as 20x40 in the Chrome source view.

Thanks Again very much for your help
Now I can begin to learn some of the finer points of this great game and hopefully ask some pertinent questions.

Later guys
Kenn Lynch